nzsb blacklogo120pxNZ Superbikes 2017

& NZ Road Race Championships


New Zealand Superbikes & Road Race Championships

In summer each year the New Zealand Superbikes & Road Race Championships are contested over a number of rounds on sealed race circuits in both the South Island and the North Island. At each circuit the Saturday morning comprises of both practice and qualifying with the first round of races in the afternoon, with two races for each class held on the Sunday. Some years by the time the riders reach the final round a New Zealand Champion has already been found while in some classes the title clincher goes down to the last race of the championship.

At Ruapuna each year the New Zealand Grand Prix for each class is contested on the last group of races for the weekend. The New Zealand Grand Prix was first held at Cust in 1936 at Easter on a gravel circuit 35 minutes out of Christchurch in the Waimakariri District. The club volunteers had to sweep the course and lay used engine oil on the track to keep the dust down. When young people look at photos of the old racers they’ll notice their faces covered in oil mist and oil splotches but i’ts not from oil leaking engines, but spray from following other racers as oil covered gravel is flicked up as your fellow competitors accelerate away. In 1964 the Grand Prix was moved to the new sealed Ruapuna Park circuit southwest of Christchurch.’

The New Zealand Tourist Trophy event was for many years held at Pukekohe Park Raceway but in recent times has been run at Hampton Downs circuit in Northern Waikato. The New Zealand Tourist Trophy is also steeped in history, being the first New Zealand road race. It was held on 3rd June 1931 on Waiheke Island and run by the Sports Motorcycle Club of Auckland. There were 21 starters with the 135 mile race won by Sid Moses on a 499cc Rudge in 2 hours 45.17. The event was called the New Zealand Motorcycle Tourist Trophy Race becoming our first NZTT event. As with the NZGP the NZTT is still held today across all NZ Championship Classes and hosted by the Auckland Motorcycle Club at Hampton Downs, this year on March 4-5th as part of the ‘Northern Nationals meeting.’

New Zealand Championship classes for 2017 will be; Superbike, Superstock 1000, Supersport, Superlite, Pro-Twins, Sidecars, Lightweight Production, Production 250, 125 Grand Prix to be supported by the Development class and either a BEARS or a Post Classic Class.

2017 Events Are:

  • ‘Southern Nationals’ - Jan 7-8th Ruapuna, Christchurch - Ticket Sales, Click Here
  • ‘Deep South Nationals’ - Jan 14-15th Teretonga Park, Invercargill
  • ‘Central North Nationals’ - February 25th-26th Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo
  • ‘Northern Nationals’ - March 4-5th Hampton Downs, Waikato

Ticket Sales

Click the image for ticket sales to the Southern Nationals

eventfinda full colour

2016 © Motorcycling NZ Inc.

Site by Legends Events & Media Ltd
Photos on this site by JDAS Photos
Powered by Kiwiwebs